Volunteer Translation

I just finished a French to English volunteer translation job that I got through Ashoka volunteers, and I'm feeling very good about it.  Although, I've done some volunteer translating in the past, I found this experience especially rewarding because I learned a lot of useful vocabulary from the financial field. 

Volunteer translations are a great way to get some free translation practice, because unlike simply translating articles and texts from published works for practice, you get to see how it is for a real freelance translator.  Although you're not getting paid, you do have an actual "client" that you're working for and there is an actual deadline to meet, so you get to work on your professionalism and your client relation skills, which are important aspects of the translation business.  Also, it's a good way to get references to show to future (paying) clients.

 Here are some sites where I've found volunteer translation jobs in the past:

 Ashoka Volunteers: www.ashoka.org

They have a newsletter that they send out periodically, which is where I found this last job that I did.  They pretty much always have translation jobs advertised on the newsletter, so this is a really good place to start, especially for speakers of Spanish or French.

Changemakers: www.changemakers.net

Changemakers is an organization that focuses on social entrepreneurship. It provides solutions and resources needed to help everyone become a changemaker and presents compelling stories that explore the fundamental principles of successful social innovation around the world. They are constantly holding "competitions" for proposals on social entreprenuership. There is usually a cash prize for the best proposal, and entrants come from all over the world, so a lot of the  proposals have to be translated into English.

Idealsit.org – Action without borders: www.idealist.org

You can do a search through their "Volunteer opportunities" link and find all sorts of volunteer jobs, not just in translation.

 Volunteer Match: www.volunteermatch.org

Do an advanced search and enter keyword "translation"

Another way to get free translation practice is to offer to translate websites.  There was a Columbian organization that advertized in Ashoka last year that they needed some things translated into English, so I e-mailed them and offered my services.  Unfortunately, they said that they had already found someone to translate the documents for them but that they would keep my info on file for any future translation needs. Now, just yesterday I happened upon their site when I was researching volunteer translation sources to list in this post, and I noticed that their "English version" page was still "under construction". Since I still had the e-mail address of the organization's president, I decided to send him an e-mail offering to translate their website into English.  This time he was more than happy to take me up on my offer.  Here's what he wrote:

"Muchas gracias, [TW]. Pronto te mandaré unos documentos para que me ayudes con el inglés. Me será muy pero muy útil."

So, now I'll get some website translation experience and another reference to give to future "paying" clients! Sweet Deal!

HAPPY TRANSLATING, EVERYONE!

TW

Explore posts in the same categories: Translation Practice

43 Comments on “Volunteer Translation”

  1. todwoawy Says:

    Now will search for pretty good feng shui gift for my love. Tnx for inspiration.b

  2. khysjopy Says:

    You’re website looks very good, it was a pleasure to be on you’re. Keep on the good work :-)i

  3. Caroline Says:

    Thanks for all of the advice! Those are some good leads!

  4. Britney Says:

    Excellent web site I will be visiting oftenl

  5. Martin Says:

    I am looking for a translator for a project in Ecuador. Ironically speaking not for Spanish, but for English – French. It is a non profit initiative. We are not talking a million pages, but it is a decent amount of text anyway. If anybody is interested, please let me know:

    Martin
    info@volunteeringecuador.info

    PS. Got some other projects lined up for translators in other languages….

  6. Bush Says:

    Lucky to find you, keep on the good workk guys! Best of luck.

  7. black touch Says:

    <a href=”http://www.friendster.com/redirect.cgi?b=Z29vZ2xlX3NlYXJjaA==

  8. Sheena Says:

    I’d like to give you a virtual hug. ((HUG)) 😛
    Thanks for the advice! This is just the lead I was looking for.

  9. Leila Says:

    I admire Ahsoka and anyone who had anything to do with ASHOKA.

    We are an association of young entrepreneurs in Tunisia, and need someone to translate our web site for us. Ca you help? We are a non profit organization with very little funding support. We would like to translate our site into english and hence atract investors and funding sources.

    Our members are small tunisian entrepreneurs that could need traslations for their web sites.

  10. Helga Says:

    Nice post. I\’ll return.

  11. sveta Says:

    Wonderful pages! Keep up the grat work.l

  12. Bill Says:

    Hi our little brothers.O

  13. Helga Says:

    Wonderful and informative web site.I used information from that site its great.o

  14. moharb Says:

    Instructive and helpful writing!
    It encouraged me also to carry on my work. I have just started getting free translation assignments.

  15. Biljana Says:

    Wow, what a helpful piece. Thank you so much for all your helpful information. I have been chansing my own tail for days just trying to get “started” somewhere, somehow… This most definitely helped. Thanks a lot. Good Luck in your future endeavors.

  16. Tamara Says:

    If you are looking for other ways to volunteer online, check out Kiva’s volunteer translation program (www.kiva.org/volunteer).

    One of the New York Times Magazine’s “Top Ideas of 2006,” Kiva.org is the world’s first person-to-person micro-lending website, empowering individuals to lend directly to an entrepreneur in the developing world.

    The Kiva Translation Program offers the opportunity to use your skills to make a direct contribution, improve language skills, network with other Kiva volunteers and build your resume.

    Volunteering from their own homes, Kiva volunteers translate entrepreneurs’ profiles into English, which are then posted for funding at Kiva.org.

  17. Katherine Shaw Says:

    This is really useful – thank you!

  18. Mar Says:

    Hello, I saw this page searching in Google, as I am looking for a translator but I cannot afford to pay one at this moment.It is an article from English into Spanish about nutrition, 2000 or less.I need help, please, could you let me know what to do?
    I need it for tuesday morning the latest.
    I would appreciate it a lot, thanks.


  19. Very Interesting! Thanks for the info.

  20. melusines Says:

    My cousin worked in Tunisia for a few years. I remember him telling me about the importance of organisations such as Ashoka

  21. Laura Monzon Says:

    I am an English to Spanish translator and I am looking for translation work to put together a portfolio of work. I can send you samples of my previous translation jobs and have also volunteered for the ONU and for TED. Thanks and regards

  22. Anetta Says:

    I search for the translator from a Ukranian language on English.
    4 releases newspaper of the International Festival Gogolfest-2010

    “ Art Newspaper Gogolfest-2010 ”

  23. Crystal Says:

    I’ll echo…thanks for the leads…I was definitely stum

  24. Crystal Says:

    I’ll echo…thanks for the leads…I was definitely stumped on how to gain experience. This is a great help!


  25. ATS Pro Terra Sancta is an international no profit Ngo looking for volunteers available for translations into German: Italian-German, English-German, Spanish-German, French-German. Contact us urgently if interested! infoats@custodia.org


  26. Hi!
    I am based in Hyderabad (India) and I work for one international non profit NGO named Aide et Action (www.aide-et-action.org). We are implementing activities in 23 countries for the children to get access to quality education. We are looking for volunteers available for translations from French To English, French to Spanish, English to French and English to Spanish.
    Please contact me if you are interested: nancy.stlaurent@aide-et-action.org

  27. James Says:

    I like your website translation idea and I have implemented it at http://www.wikitranslation.org. It is a site dedicated to volunteer translators. Users translate short passages for each other. Gain experience and reputation!

  28. virtales Says:

    Why not using OnTranslator? It’s very useful and free!


  29. Hi to all,
    if you are interested in travel-related voluntary translations, please check TIXIK.com website : http://en.tixik.com/info/jointixik/
    We do translate travel content into (currently) 30 language versions. Topics available for translation are easy to translate, you can find out a lot of interesting travel information, and gain a job references at respected travel site.
    Thank you all for replies.


  30. Thanks for the help. I created a new blog to help people with English-Spanish translations. http://www.translatingtolearn.blogspot.com. I hope to have visits and interesting texts and comments to learn more. Hope some of you look at it!

  31. ang Says:

    thank you this was v useful 🙂


  32. Thank you for this article. I will definitely try out the sites you have listed.

    I am currently looking for volunteer translators for the Web browser the company I work for develops.

    If you are interested, please get in touch via the site below:

    http://blog.fenrir-inc.com/us/2012/03/translators-wanted-for-windows-mac-mobile-sleipnir-web-browser.html

    If you are able to help, I would be happy to post your name as a contributor and if you have a suitable link, I would be happy to add it to our blog.

    Thank you

  33. Jimmy Ong Says:

    I’m from Malaysia. Nice to meet you.I’m searching for translation job and found your site. I speak English, Malay, Chinese and Japanese.

  34. nadia Says:

    Me encanta la traducción pero no debe ser lo más importante en nuestras vidas. Debemos buscar a Dios, a través de Jesucristo, porque el tiempo se acaba! Y acuérdense, Jesús es el ÚNICO camino para llegar a Dios:

    Juan 14:6: Jesús le dijo: YO SOY EL CAMINO, y la verdad, y la vida; nadie viene al Padre, sino por mí.

    Cristo viene YA!

    1 Tesalonicenses 4:16: Porque el Señor mismo con voz de mando, con voz de arcángel, y CON TROMPETA de Dios, descenderá del cielo; y los muertos en Cristo resucitarán primero.

    Que Dios los bendiga a todos!

  35. Edward Says:

    Hi to all, i’m screenwriter from Russia. I have sinopsys for filmscript, it is drama, 13 pages. It is translated into English, but some time ago i made some changes and translated this fragments myself. So now i need somebody to polish the English text again. It would be the best if this person is a native speaker. Who would help? Thank you in advance, Edward – edwardre@mail.ru

  36. Muriel Says:

    Fantastic web site you possess going here.


  37. 2 percent return on investment. The interior has floor-to-ceiling sliding
    glass instead of conventional doors, which brings the outside in, and the we say” tosh”, an affordable kitchen Remodel Home Cost is simply
    a blind spot over a silk-suited shoulder. It is by Autodesk, the same
    as previously agreed, but pushed back its 2007 and 2008 deadlines to finish the project and you’re guarantee returns on your investment.

  38. John Litteral Says:

    I am looking for some volunteers who would be interested in translating Latin into English. Its for an medieval Latin work called the Glossa Ordinaria. Little of it has ever been translated into English. I can get it published and I can also make it a free resource for online users. Anyone interested please contact me at jlitteral5@roadrunner.com


  39. Eenadu online site ( has also become very popular and is the most visited telugu news website.

    In the prehistoric days, Lord Sri Vishnu killed Hiranyakasipa and he was moving around in the forest,
    when Goddess Sreedevi came in the disguise of ‘Chenchu’ tribe lady to calm down the
    anger of Lord Vishnu. There are some designer sarees in these fabrics, which provide designed blouse with them.

  40. Miriam ND Says:

    Hello. I am a translator student from Spain and I have worked as a volunteer at UNICEF Spain.
    At the moment, I am writing on my final project in order to finish my degree and I looking for translator volunteers who can share their experiences or just to fill a questionnaire which would be anonymous.
    This is my email in case you would like to contact me: miriam.uem.tei@gmail.com


  41. THese school superintendents who are making $200,000 more or less, are always hounding those of us who are barely squeaking by. Troy actually had people coming to our door to badger us into voting for the referendum, and kids were being sent home with propaganda about what would happen to programs if we didn’t vote for it. Come on http://tropaadet.dk/bettyebender19764081845

  42. jlitteral29 Says:

    I am looking for volunteers for translation projects for Latin, Greek, and French, into English. The projects are of Early Christian Bible commentaries that will most probably be published and translators get all of the royalties. No costs or unwanted obligations to the translator. No strings attached whatsoever. Please contact me at. Jlitteral29@gmail.com


Leave a comment